Mechanique: A Tale of the Circus Tresaulti by Genevieve Valentine (E-book)

Mechanique: A Tale of the Circus Tresaulti by Genevieve Valentine (E-book)

Type: E-book
Pages: 288
Size: 940012512093
ISBN: 9781607012962
Publication Date: May 4, 2011
Price: $6.99

Visit the Circus Tresaulti Web Site!

Come inside and take a seat; the show is about to begin…

Outside any city still standing, the Mechanical Circus Tresaulti sets up its tents. Crowds pack the benches to gawk at the brass-and-copper troupe and their impossible feats: Ayar the Strong Man, the acrobatic Grimaldi Brothers, fearless Elena and her aerialists who perform on living trapezes. War is everywhere, but while the Circus is performing, the world is magic.

That magic is no accident: Boss builds her circus from the bones out, molding a mechanical company that will survive the unforgiving landscape.

But even a careful ringmaster can make mistakes.

Two of Tresaulti’s performers are trapped in a secret standoff that threatens to tear the Circus apart, just as the war lands on their doorstep. Now they must fight a war on two fronts: one from the outside, and a more dangerous one from within…

“Mechanique is a brutal gem of a novel–a fierce, gilded textual circus. The story is spun from words that are sweeter than sugar, but the result is dark and weird, and it will bite you back.”
— Cherie Priest, bestselling author of Boneshaker and Dreadnought

Mechanique is something unique and elegant.”— io9

Publishers Weekly: (Starred Review)This steampunk-flavored circus story begins with a disturbing undertone, like an out-of-tune calliope, and develops in hints and shadows. Touring a drained postwar world, the Mechanical Circus Tresaulti rarely visits a city twice in anyone's lifetime; borders are lax, and lives are short. The circus's performers have no time for training, instead undergoing terrible trials in the ringmaster's workshop to gain their skills. Enter the "government man," who dreams of bringing back the order and security of the old world and wants the ringmaster to help him. She shares many of his dreams but mistrusts his offers of alliance. The drama and climax come not from the rivalry between the two but their similarities as they decide how to use their powers and who will suffer the consequences. Fans of grim fantasy will love this menacing and fascinating debut.

Locus Review: {T]his ‘‘Tale of the Circus Tresaulti’’ doesn’t resemble steampunk so much as Gothic in the tradition of Poe and Mary Shelley, where a lone inventor’s creations mingle science with the occult... the Circus Tresaulti [exudes] the aura of timeless myth and legend...Beyond every revelation, setback and dramatic moment, the wonder remains.

Realms of Fantasy Review: Mechanique is set in a magical, post-apocalyptic future in which a circus of magical, immortal, mechanical men and women wends its way through a barren landscape between cities torn by a ceaseless war...This is a beautiful little jewel of a book, told in scintillating little flashes like light through the facets of a gem. It offers unreliable point of view, an omniscient narrator who almost dissolves into the narrative, and a series of striking, fantastic images that only slowly reveal the shape of the story behind them. It's beautifully written from the sentence level to the structural... -- Elizabeth Bear

Also available in trade paperback.

Buy from one of these retailers

booktype: E-book
url_kindle: http://www.amazon.com/Mechanique-Tale-Circus-Tresaulti-ebook/dp/B004XT61HA
url_nook: http://search.barnesandnoble.com/Mechanique/Genevieve-Valentine/e/2940012512093
url_ibooks: http://itunes.apple.com/us/book/isbn940012512093
pagecount: 288
pubdate: 2011-05-04
size: 940012512093
isbn: 9781607012962
url_weightless: http://weightlessbooks.com/genre/fiction/novel/mechanique-a-tale-of-the-circus-tresaulti/

$6.99Price: